Foggie, Lister named preseason All-SEC

Nov. 5, 2013

The Vanderbilt women's basketball team is gaining plenty of preseason attention, both collectively and individually.

The most recent accolades came Tuesday, when senior guards Jasmine Lister and Christina Foggie were named First Team All-SEC by the conference's coaches. Vanderbilt was one of only two schools (along with Tennessee) to have two players named to the eight-member First Team.

Lister and Foggie, the lone seniors on the Vanderbilt roster, have been integral parts of the Commodore program for the past four seasons. They both have scored more than 1,000 points in the careers.

Lister was also named preseason All-SEC by the league's media members last month.

On a national level, the Commodores - who have made 14 straight NCAA tournament appearances - have earned Top-30 rankings in multiple polls and have been picked for a top-five finish in the always-tough SEC.

The SEC coaches picked Vanderbilt to finish fourth in the conference. Earlier in the preseason, the conference's media members picked the Commodores to finish fifth. Being slated for a top finish in both ballots is especially notable when considering that as many as six SEC schools are ranked in multiple polls.

The Commodores have also made waves in the national rankings, including earning a No. 23 spot in the Athlon Sports poll. Vanderbilt also received votes in the USA Today Coaches Poll (coming in at No. 26) and in the Associated Press Poll (Vanderbilt is No. 28).

In the SEC coaches' balloting that was released on Tuesday, Tennessee was predicted to win the conference's regular-season championship with 167 votes. The reigning SEC regular season champions return three starters from last season's NCAA Elite Eight squad, including 2013 SEC Player of the Year Meighan Simmons, 2013 SEC Freshman of the Year Bashaara Graves and World University gold medal winner Ariel Massengale.

Kentucky, LSU, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Texas A&M and Georgia rounded out the top half of the league with Auburn, Missouri, Florida, Mississippi State, Arkansas, Ole Miss and Alabama rounding out the lower half.

Tennessee's Simmons was the choice of the coaches for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with seven votes; the remaining votes were given to Kentucky's DeNesha Stallworth (three), LSU's Theresa Plaisance (three) and Vanderbilt's Foggie (one).

Joining Simmons, Stallworth, Plaisance and Foggie on the All-SEC First Team were Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina; Bashaara Graves, Tennessee; Courtney Walker, Texas A&M; and Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt.

The second team consists of Hasina Muhammad, Auburn; Jaterra Bonds, Florida; Shacobie Barbee, Georgia; Samarie Walker, Kentucky; Jennifer O'Neil, Kentucky; Danielle Ballard, LSU; Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss; Martha Alwal, Mississippi State.

Points were compiled on a 13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for order of prediction, while each player received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote. Coaches do not vote for their own team or players.

Preseason Media Poll

SEC Champion: Tennessee (11); Kentucky (3)

Player of the Year: Meighan Simmons, Tennessee (7); DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky (3); Theresa Plaisance, LSU (3); Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt (1)

Order of Finish
1. Tennessee 167
2. Kentucky 159
3. LSU 134
4. Vanderbilt 124
T5. South Carolina 121
T5. Texas A&M 121
7. Georgia 104
8. Auburn 72
9. Missouri 69
10. Florida 60
11. Mississippi State 51
12. Arkansas 42
13. Ole Miss 25
14. Alabama 24

First Team All-SEC
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M
Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

Second Team
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Jaterra Bonds, Florida
Shacobie Barbee, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Jennifer O'Neil, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics