Limbaugh named GCAA National Coach of the Year

June 6, 2017

Vanderbilt head coach Scott Limbaugh has been honored with the GCAA's Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips, an award given to the Division I Men's Golf Head Coach of the Year. Limbaugh led the Commodores to the NCAA Championship stroke-play title in Sugar Grove, Ill., by 12 shots, the biggest victory since 2001, and a number one ranking in all three postseason polls.

Limbaugh is Vanderbilt's first recipient of the Williams Award after being named a finalist for the award in 2015 and 2016. He also brought home the SEC Coach of the Year earlier this season.

"This is most definitely a program award," Limbaugh said. "There are so many people to thank that I could never thank them all. So many people have taken chances on me, loved me and encouraged me on this journey. I am very humbled and blessed to be able to do what I love every single day. You try to establish a foundation of excellence and it takes the right kind of buy-in from so many different people. It was a great season and this particular team was champions on and off the course. I am honored to be their coach."

Since his arrival prior to the 2012 campaign, Limbaugh has quickly established himself as one of the nation's preeminent coaches. He has mentored three first-team All-Americans, four Palmer Cup selections, a Walker Cup member and 10 total All-America selections, all while also garnering five consecutive NCAA Regional bids and four consecutive NCAA Championship appearances from 2014-17 for the first time in program history. Under Limbaugh, Vanderbilt has won 12 team tournaments -- the most by a head coach in Vanderbilt golf history -- and garnered 10 individual tournament winners.

The coach has also led Vanderbilt to a first-place (2017), a second-place (2015) and fourth-place (2016) finish in the stroke play portion of the NCAA Championship, as well as Elite Eight appearances in 2015 and 2016 and a Final Four appearance in 2017 in the match play portion of the tournament. He has also had two of his players participate in a PGA Tour event: Hunter Stewart in 2014 at the RBC Heritage and Matthias Schwab at the Arnold Palmer Invitational in 2017.

ELLIS: The powerhouse that Scott Limbaugh built

Limbaugh's student-athletes have evolved into some of the SEC's best. He has coached 11 All-SEC selections, one SEC Player of the Year (Hunter Stewart in 2015) and one SEC Freshman of the Year (John Augenstein in 2017). Prior to his arrival, Vanderbilt boasted only 10 All-SEC players in the entire history of the program.

Astonishingly, eight of the top 11 single-season stroke averages in the history of the program have been with Limbaugh at the helm, with Stewart posting the program's top all-time stroke average at 69.49.

The Dave Williams National Coach of the Year Award is presented, once again, by Golf Pride Grips. For over six decades, Golf Pride has been the global leader in golf grip innovation and technology, from the invention of the slip-on grip to groundbreaking advancements in cord with the new Brushed Cotton Technology (BCT®) to the introduction of the hybrid category of grips. Today, Golf Pride® has laid claim to more major wins than any other grip company. More than 80% of Tour professionals choose to play our grips and not one is paid to do so. And in this age of multi-million dollar endorsement deals, that's the strongest endorsement of all.


Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics