Wright named All-SEC by AP

Dec. 4, 2017

ATLANTA ¬ Vanderbilt defensive standout Charles Wright was named to The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team on Monday.

Wright, a junior outside linebacker from Irvine, Calif., was named to the AP’s second-team All-SEC unit.

Wright enjoyed a banner campaign this year as a 12-game starter. He ranked second in the conference with nine quarterback sacks, the highest total by a Vanderbilt defender since Alan Young set a school record with 12 sacks in 1993.

Wright also registered 43 total tackles, including 10.5 tackles for loss. Wright opened the year in sensational fashion, amassing 6.5 sacks in Vanderbilt’s 3-0 start to the season. Those performances included a career-high three sacks in Vanderbilt’s season-opening victory at Middle Tennessee and 2.5 sacks in the Commodores’ September win over No. 19 ranked Kansas State.

Later in the year, Wright contributed a pair of sacks in Vanderbilt’s non-conference victory over Western Kentucky. He concluded the year with a final sack in the Commodores’ 42-24 win at Tennessee.

Wright joins a select list of recent Commodore defensive standouts recognized by the Associated Press. He becomes the fifth Vanderbilt linebacker to be honored in the last decade, joining Zach Cunningham (2015-16), Chris Marve (2011), Patrick Benoist (2008) and Jonathan Goff (2007).

The complete Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference football team follows:

First-Team Offense
   WR — A.J. Brown, Ole Miss; Calvin Ridley, Alabama
   OT – Jonah Williams, Alabama; Isaiah Wynn, Georgia
   OG – Braden Smith, Auburn; Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
   C – Bradley Bozeman, Alabama; Will Clapp, LSU
   TE – Hayden Hurst, South Carolina
   QB – Drew Lock, Missouri
   RB – Kerryon Johnson, Auburn; Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky
   PK – Daniel Carlson, Auburn All-Purpose – Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

First-Team Defense
   DE – Jeff Holland, Auburn; Montez Sweat, Mississippi State
   DT – Da'Ron Payne, Alabama; Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State
   LB – Roquan Smith, Georgia; Devin White, LSU; Rashaan Evans, Alabama; Arden Key, LSU
   CB – Andraez Williams, LSU; Armani Watts, Texas A&M
   Safety – Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama; Ronnie Harrison, Alabama
   P – Johnny Townsend, Florida

Second-Team Offense
   WR – J'Mon Moore, Missouri; Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
   OT – Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State; Martez Ivey, Florida
   OG – Trey Smith, Tennessee; Greg Little, Ole Miss
   C – Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
   TE – Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
   QB – Jarrett Stidham, Auburn
   RB – Nick Chubb, Georgia; Derrius Guice, LSU
   PK – Eddy Pineiro, Florida
   All-Purpose – Mecole Hardman, Georgia; D.J. Chark, LSU

Second Team Defense
   DE – Marcell Frazier, MissouriMarquis Haynes, Ole Miss; Dante Sawyer, South Carolina
   DT – Taven Bryan, Florida, Raekwon Davis, Alabama; Breeland Speaks, Ole Miss
   LB – Josh Allen, Kentucky; Lorenzo Carter, Georgia; De'Jon Harris, Arkansas; Skai Moore, South Carolina; Charles Wright, Vanderbilt
   CB – Duke Dawson, Florida; Levi Wallace, Alabama; Carlton Davis, Auburn; CJ Henderson, Florida
   Safety – J.R. Reed, Georgia.
   P – JK Scott, Alabama



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics