WT opens SEC Tourney with Miss. State

April 21, 2010

SEC Tournament Central | Live Video | Tournament Bracket

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - For the second straight year, the 29th-ranked Vanderbilt women's tennis team will open with Mississippi State in the first round of the SEC Tennis Championships.

The sixth-seeded Commodores will open postseason play, facing the 11th-seeded Lady Bulldogs at 1 p.m. CT on Thursday at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga.

Vanderbilt (12-8, 7-4) will look to extend its three-match winning streak this week at the SEC Championships and will face a first-round opponent that it has dominated. The Commodores have defeated Mississippi State 21 consecutive times dating back to the 1992 dual season. Earlier this year, the `Dores swept all nine matches (six singles, three doubles) en route to a 7-0 win in Starkville.

The winner of the VU-MSU match will advance to face No. 3 Tennessee (14-7, 8-3 SEC) in the quarterfinals at 1 p.m. Friday.

In the `Dores last outing, senior Hannah Blatt and junior Rachael Dillon went a combined 20-0 in singles and doubles en route to a 6-1 win over Kentucky. Vanderbilt won all three doubles matches against the Wildcats to take the doubles point for the second straight match.

So far this season, the Commodores have been a strong team in singles play and have shown the ability to comeback and win the dual-match after dropping the doubles point. VU has four players with at least 10 singles wins this spring, led by Catherine Newman and Chelsea Preeg with 14 and 13 respectively. Blatt went a team-best 9-1 in the SEC while Newman and Preeg had conference marks of 8-3 and 7-4.
Live video and live scoring of the entire SEC Women's Tennis Championships will be available on georgiadogs.com.

Final results of the SEC Tournament will be posted on vucommodores.com following the conclusion of competition.

2010 SEC Women's Tennis Tournament Schedule

Thursday, April 22
Match 1: #9 Alabama vs. #8 LSU
  9 a.m. (McWhorter Courts)

Match 2: #12 Kentucky vs. #5 South Carolina
  9 a.m. (Henry Feild Courts)

Match 3: #11 Mississippi State vs. #6 Vanderbilt  
1 p.m. (Henry Feild Courts)
Match 4: #10 Auburn vs. #7 Arkansas
  1 p.m. (McWhorter Courts)

Friday, April 23
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. #1 Florida
  9 a.m. (McWhorter Courts)

Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. #4 Georgia
  9 a.m. (Henry Feild Courts)
Match 7: Winner Match 3 vs. #3 Tennessee  
1 p.m. (McWhorter Courts)

Match 8: Winner Match 4 vs. #2 Ole Miss
  1 p.m. (Henry Feild Courts)

Saturday, April 24
Match 9: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6  
9 a.m. (Henry Feild Courts)

Match 10: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8
  1 p.m. (McWhorter Courts)

Sunday, April 25
Match 11: Winner Match 9 vs. Winner Match 10
  11 a.m. (Henry Feild Courts)

All times Central



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics