SEC women's preseason poll announced

Jan. 18, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Vanderbilt women's tennis was picked to finish third in the SEC Eastern Division by the league's coaches, as was announced by the Southeastern Conference Friday morning.

The Florida Gators were picked as the overall champion for the fourth-consecutive year. Vanderbilt begins the spring ranked No. 26 in the ITA Rankings.

Georgia was picked to finish second (83 points) behind Florida in the Eastern Division, with Vanderbilt coming in at third (62 points).  The remainder of the East was: 4. Tennessee (61 points), 5. South Carolina (44 points), 6. Kentucky (23 points), and Missouri (21 points).

Texas A&M was voted as Western Division Champion with 94 points.  Alabama was voted second (88 points) with Ole Miss third (66 points).  The remainder of the West was: 4. Arkansas (47 points), 5. Auburn (46 points), 6. LSU (34 points), and Mississippi State (17 points).

The preseason poll is voted on by the women's tennis head coach at each institution and is based on a 7-6-5-4-3-2-1 count in each division. They also vote for the overall champion, with each vote counting as one point.

The 26th-ranked Commodores are in action this weekend at the Miami Invitational where they will compete against three top-15 teams in the country (No. 9 Miami, No. 11 Texas and No. 14 Texas A&M).

The complete tally for the poll is below.  

Eastern Division               Points                  
1. Florida                           98
2. Georgia                          83
3. Vanderbilt                       62
4. Tennessee                     61
5. South Carolina                44
6. Kentucky                        23
7. Missouri                         21

Western Division            Points
1. Texas A&M                   94
2. Alabama                        88
3. Ole Miss                       66
4. Arkansas                      47          
5. Auburn                          46
6. LSU                              34
7. Mississippi State           17

Overall Regular Season Champion:  Florida (13 points), Texas A&M (1) 



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics