Linthicum, Cahill on All-ALC Team

May 1, 2013

BALTIMORE - Vanderbilt seniors Carly Linthicum and Paige Cahill have been recognized on the All-American Lacrosse Conference team, league officials announced Wednesday on the eve of the 2013 ALC Tournament at Homewood Field on the campus of Johns Hopkins University.

CarlyLinthicum earned first-team All-ALC honors while Cahill was named to the second team for the second consecutive season.

Linthicum led Vanderbilt in scoring this season, netting 49 goals and adding 14 assists. She scored four or more goals in half of Vanderbilt's games this season after opening the year with three straight games of five goals apiece. Linthicum has scored a total of 99 points in her Commodore career.

Cahill is a three-year starter on the Commodore defense who led the team in ground balls this season (34). The Nashville native also accounted for 11 caused turnovers and 13 draw controls. She was an All-Region honoree last season.

The senior duo leads the Commodores into the 2013 ALC Tournament this week. Vanderbilt plays its first game on Thursday, May 2, against No. 8 Penn State. The opening draw is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. CT. Johns Hopkins and Ohio State will play at 3 p.m. CT. Tournament Central (includes free live video and stats).

"We're really ready," VU Head Coach Cathy Swezey said. "The beginning of the season it was easy to call us a young team because we had a lot of players with no experience. Now we've got a lot of players with a lot of experience. We feel like having the title of a 'second season' and being able to put our record behind us is a big deal."

Linthicum scored seven points when Vanderbilt and Penn State met in the regular season. The Commodore trailed by only three midway through the second half, but a three-goal run by the Nittany Lions helped ice a 20-14 victory.

"We feel good about the matchup," Swezey said. "Clearly we gave up way too many shots [in the first game vs. Penn State], but one of the big issues we had in that game was transitioning an extra defender onto the field. We gave up too much in transition when we were taking kids off the field. It was a coaching mistake on our end that allowed Penn State to speed up its transition and get fast break goals. We won't make that mistake again."

ALC postseason award winners will be recognized Thursday prior to Vanderbilt's game. Florida nearly swept the league's year-end awards. Amanda O'Leary was named the ALC Coach of the Year; Mikey Meagher was tabbed as ALC Goalie of the Year; Sam Farrell earned Defensive Player of the Year honors; Brittany Dashiell picked up Midfield Player of the Year recognition; and Kitty Cullen was named the Offensive Player of the Year. The lone award not to go to the Gators was ALC Rookie of the Year, which Johns Hopkins' Dené DiMartino earned.

The complete list of league honorees is below:

ALC First Team
Kitty Cullen, Florida
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Brittany Dashiell, Florida
Sam Farrell, Florida
Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern
Gabrielle Flibotte, Northwestern
Shannon Gilroy, Florida
Katie Guy, Penn State
Kelly Lechner, Penn State
Carly Linthicum, Vanderbilt
Maggie McCormick, Penn State
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern

ALC Second Team
Ashley Bruns, Florida
Paige Cahill, Vanderbilt
Ali Cassera, Northwestern
Sammy Cermack, Johns Hopkins
Katie Chase, Ohio State
Jackie Cifarelli, Ohio State
Mackenzie Cyr, Penn State
Dene DiMartino, Johns Hopkins
Emily Dohony, Florida
Tayler Kuzma, Ohio State
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Jenna Mosketti, Penn State



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics