Dores to host Mason Rudolph Championship

Sept. 19, 2013

Live Scoring

The Commodores' women's golf team once again will play host to one of the most prestigious collegiate tournaments at the Mason Rudolph Women's Championship this Friday through Sunday in Franklin, Tenn., at the Vanderbilt Legends Club.  Ten of the nation's top 25 teams will make the trip to the middle Tennessee area to play in the tournament at the par-72, 6,337-yard North Course, the site of the 2012 NCAA Women's Championship.

Vanderbilt, ranked number nine in the latest Golfweek poll, will be represented by juniors Irina Gabasa and Kendall Martindale, sophomores Jenny Hahn and Morgan Ransom, and freshman Simin Feng in the tournament.  Katie Rose Higgins, Lauren Johnson, Kimberly Koehler, Kate Sborov, Antonia Scherer, and Rene Sobolewski will compete as individuals.

Teams that will compete with the Commodores include Duke (#2), Alabama (#4), UCLA (#5), Arizona State (#10), Virginia (#16), North Carolina (#17), Texas (#18), North Carolina State (#20), Baylor (#22), Michigan State (#23), Kentucky, Auburn, Wake Forest, and Princeton.  

Arizona captured last year's tournament by 11 strokes over Virginia, while Emilie Burger of Georgia captured medalist honors with an even par, 216 (72-72-72).  

Fifty-four holes are scheduled to be played Friday through Sunday, with 18 holes planned for each day with tee times beginning off of number one and 10 at 8 a.m. on Friday and Saturday, and 7:30 a.m. Sunday.  Admission is free.

Other Notes

-Former Vanderbilt All-American and assistant coach Nicki Cutler brings her Princeton team to the Mason Rudolph Championship for the first time.  Cutler, who lettered from 1999-2003 for the Commodores and was an honorable-mention All-American in 2002, was runner-up in the inaugural Mason Rudolph Championship in 2001.

-Alabama won the 2012 NCAA Championship in their last appearance on the North Course.

-Former Commodore coach Martha Richards brings her Texas team to the tournament for the second consecutive season.

-After Bermuda Greens were installed in 2011, the scores at the Mason Rudolph have skyrocketed; UCLA won the tournament with a team score of 873 in 2011 and Arizona with a score of 889 in 2012, compared to LSU’s winning total of 843 in 2010 when the North Course had bent grass greens.



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics