Commodores honored at Awards Dinner

May 6, 2014

Awards were handed out on Sunday night to a few exemplary members of both Vanderbilt golf teams at their end-of-the-year Awards Dinner, with freshmen Simin Feng and Matthias Schwab honored as each team's MVP.

Feng, from Windermere, Fla., was named the Peggy Harmon Brady Player of the Year for the women's program after garnering two individual victories this season and posting the team's lowest stroke average.  Feng also recently claimed the SEC's Freshman of the Year after winning the SEC Championship individual title by eight strokes.

Schwab, from Rohrmoos, Austria, won the Rudolph Cup, which is given to the men's team's player of the year, after posting the team's lowest stroke average for the year and winning medalist honors at the Carmel Cup in his first collegiate tournament and posting one other top five finish.

Senior Rene Sobolewski won the team's Mr. C Coaches Award, while junior Hunter Stewart won the same award for the men.  

Sophomore Morgan Ransom won two awards on Sunday, claiming the Most Improved Award and the Megan Grehan Academic Excellence Award, while sophomore Carson Jacobs was honored with the Brandt Snedeker Most Improved Award and junior Jordan Janico won the team's Loomis Academic Award.



Both teams are currently preparing for NCAA Regional competition - the women play May 8-10 at the Tallahassee, Fla., regional, while the men will participate in the San Antonio, Texas, Regional May 15-17.

Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics