Three bowlers earn national honors

April 10, 2013

All-America Teams | Banquet Photo Gallery

CANTON, Mich. -- A trio of Vanderbilt bowlers was honored Wednesday night as the NCAA Bowling Championship got underway with the annual Champions Banquet.

Senior Jessica Earnest and freshmen Robyn Renslow and Amanda Fry were recognized for their achievements during the regular season, one that ended with the Commodores rated fifth with a record of 85-38.

Earnest was named a first-team All-American in voting by the National Ten Pin Coaches Association. It was the first time the Vandalia, Ill., product cracked the coveted first team after three straight second team berths. She was the Most Valuable Player at the Kutztown Invitational.

"It is good to have individual goals at the beginning of the season because they can help drive you to improve," Earnest said, "but individual goals can't overshadow the team goals. That is what is important. I do hope that this signifies that I have been able to contribute to the team's objectives. That has always been my main goal."

Renslow was honored twice, as a second team All-American and also recipient of the prestigious Rookie of the Year Award.The Brentwood, Calif., native made three all-tournament teams during her steady season and became Vanderbilt's fourth freshman in eight years to earn rookie honors. Jessica Earnest was a prior winner in 2010; Michelle Peloquin was chosen in 2006 and Brittni Hamilton won in 2008.

Fry was a third-team pick after making three all-tournament teams and winning MVP honors in a fourth, the Track Kat Klash at Sam Houston State.

Both Commodore freshmen were lost for words, both completely surprised. Renslow said she wasn't even aware individual awards were being presented, much less that she had put her name in a distinguished line of past Vanderbilt winners.

Fairleigh Dickinson's Danielle McEwan was voted Division I Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics