Music City Classic this weekend

March 6, 2014

Columbia 300 Music City Classic March 7-9, 2014

Location: Smyrna Bowling Center 95 Weakley Lane Smyrna, Tennessee

The Field (29 teams): Adelphi, Alabama A & M, Alabama State, Arkansas State, Bethune Cookman, Central Missouri, Delaware State, Fairleigh Dickinson, Howard, Jackson State, Kutztown, Louisiana Tech, Long Island, Maryland-Eastern Shore, McKendree, Monmouth, Nebraska, North Carolina A&T, Prairie View A&M, Sacred Heart, Saint Francis Brooklyn College (NY), Saint Francis University (Pa), Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin, Tulane, UAB, Valparaiso, Vanderbilt, Wisconsin-Whitewater.

19 of Top 20 Here: The top 18 rated teams in the most recent National Ten Pin Coaches Association poll will be in action and 19 of the Top 20 are here. Only 19th ranked Norfolk State is missing.

Tourney Format: Friday: Six, 4-game Baker matches (matches start 9:00 a.m. CT) Saturday: Six team games (matches at 8:30 a.m.) Sunday: Three best-of-seven Bakers (matches at 8:30) *There will be a one-hour break Friday and Saturday after three games.

Following tournament: with Lucas Wiseman will be on hand to stream matches live. In addition, some highlights will be posted on Vanderbilt Bowling's Twitter and Facebook pages. Due to the limited wireless access, university U-Streams will not be able to function unless operating on their own cell network.

Commenting on tournament: "This continues to be the largest and strongest field in the NCAA," says Vanderbilt Coach John Williamson. "For most programs, this marks the end of the regular season so we have teams hoping to improve their NCAA resume, some wanting to experience tough competition one more time and others simply wanting to enjoy a good tournament to end their year."

Senior Day Sunday: Senior Lauren Rhein will be honored at the conclusion of Sunday's play as is Vanderbilt's tradition.

Tough Winning at Home: Vanderbilt has won just two of the previous nine Music City Classic events. The Commodores won back-to-back in 2009 and 2010; even the 2007 NCAA championship team was third. Last year the `Dores were third.

Last Year's Highlights: Maryland-Eastern Shore topped Arkansas State in the championship match. Central Missouri's Natalie Jiminez earned tournament MVP honors with Kelly Daunno of New Jersey City, Kristina Terpo of St. Francis (NY), Liz Kuhlkin of Nebraska, Angie Ramirez of UMES and Michelle Secours of Sam Houston State making the all-tournament team.



    Online Store

    Vanderbilt Commodores
    Official Online Store