Foggie on Wade Watch List

Vanderblt's Christina Foggie is one of 25 players on the Wade Trophy Watch List.

Sept. 18, 2012

WBCA Releases Wade Watch List

After winning the SEC scoring title as a sophomore, there was an expectation for Vanderbilt guard Christina Foggie to begin receiving national attention in 2012-13.

That expectation has started to become a reality, with Foggie being named to the 2013 State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List.

The Wade Trophy is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). The trophy is named after the late Delta State coach, Lily Margaret Wade, and is regarded as the "Heisman Trophy of Women's College Basketball."

Foggie led the SEC in scoring in 2012, averaging 17.7 points per game. She was also the league's leader in three-point field goal percentage (41.6) and three-point field goals per game (2.8), while finishing second in the league in free-throw percentage (83.2).

In conference play, the Mount Laurel, N.J., native was even more impressive. Against SEC teams she averaged 18.0 points per game, shooting 43.6% from the field and 37.5% from three-point range.

She scored double-digits in 29 of 33 games, including 12 contests of over 20 points. During a five-game stretch from November 26-December 7, she scored over 20 points in each game, including 21 in an upset of No. 12 Oklahoma.

Against No. 17/15 Georgia on January 28, Foggie poured in a career-high 34 points on 12-of-24 shooting and 7-of-13 from three-point range. She led Vanderbilt in scoring during 16 of its 33 games, including 26 points against Duke in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

For her efforts, Foggie earned WBCA All-Region honors, as well as First Team All-SEC honors from both the league's coaches and the Associated Press. She was also the first player under Head Coach Melanie Balcomb to lead the conference in scoring.



Foggie is one of just two players from the Southeastern Conference on the Wade Watch List. She is joined by Kentucky's A'dia Mathies. The 2012 winner, Baylor's Brittney Griner, is also on the list.

Foggie and the Commodores open the 2012-13 campaign with an exhibition game on Saturday, November 3, against Alabama-Huntsville. The regular season begins on Saturday, November 10, when McNeese State visits Memorial Gym.

Season tickets are available by calling 615-322-GOLD (4653) or visiting

2013 State Farm Wade Trophy Watch List
Alex Bentley (Penn State)
Heather Butler (UT Martin)
Carolyn Davis (Kansas)
Elena Delle Donne (Delaware)
Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame)
Stefanie Dolson (Connecticut)
Christina Foggie (Vanderbilt)
Chassidy Fussell (Texas)
Angel Goodrich (Kansas)
Chelsea Gray (Duke)
Brittney Griner (Baylor)
Bria Hartley (Connecticut)
Tayler Hill (Ohio State)
Jordan Hooper (Nebraska)
Maggie Lucas (Penn State)
Anna Martin (DePaul)
A'dia Mathies (Kentucky)
Lindsey Moore (Nebraska)
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (Connecticut)
Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford)
Sugar Rodgers (Georgetown)
Shoni Schimmel (Louisville)
Odyssey Sims (Baylor)
Alyssa Thomas (Maryland)
Elizabeth Williams (Duke)

Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics