Clarke, Lister & Bowe named All-SEC

March 5, 2013

SEC Women's Hoops Awards Released (SEC Digital Network)

Three Vanderbilt women's basketball players have received All-SEC honors from the league's coaches, it was announced on Tuesday, March 5. Tiffany Clarke has been named First Team All-SEC, Jasmine Lister received second team All-SEC honors, while Heather Bowe has been named to the All-Freshman team.

Clarke led Vanderbilt in both scoring and rebounding this year, posting 16.5 points and 8.3 rebounds per game. She also led the team in field goal percentage (52.7%) and blocks (1.5 per game). The senior forward ranked fourth in the conference in scoring, fifth in rebounding and third in field goal percentage. Only Clarke and fellow first team selection Kelsey Bone (Texas A&M) ranked in the top five in all three categories.

Clarke was named SEC and ESPNW National Player of the Week on February 25 after a week that saw her hang a career-high 30 in an upset of No. 10/13 Texas A&M. During the week, she also scored 26 points in a win at Florida.

Clarke, who will play in the SEC Tournament in her native Duluth, Ga., has received some type of All-SEC recognition during each season at Vanderbilt. She was named to the All-Freshman team in 2010, picked up All-Tournament honors in 2011 and was named Second Team All-SEC last season.

Lister was Vanderbilt's third-leading scorer at 14.5 points per game, while leading the team in assists at 5.4 per game. The junior guard finished the season ranked 18th in the league in scoring, third in assists, eighth in three-pointers per game (1.8) and sixth in assist/turnover ratio (1.6), while leading the league in minutes played at 32.6 per game.

The Corona, Calif., native saved her best basketball for the end of the season. She averaged 17.7 points over the final six games of the season, helping Vanderbilt go 4-2 during a stretch where second-leading scorer Christina Foggie was limited to injury and missed four games.

Like Clarke, Lister has received All-SEC honors during each season in black and gold. She was on the All-Freshman team in 2011 before earning second team honors a year ago.

Bowe emerged as an important player for Vanderbilt after the loss of center Stephanie Holzer to injury in an exhibition contest in November. Bowe has played in all but one game this season, averaging 6.4 points and 4.5 rebounds.

The Eau Claire, Wis., native started 11 contests on the year, including the last six games of the regular season. She has posted seven double-figure games on the season, as well as two double-doubles.

Tennessee's Holly Warlick was voted Coach of the Year, while A'dia Mathies (Kentucky) and Meighan Simmons (Tennessee) were named Co-Players of the Year. Tennessee's Bashaara Graves was named Freshman of the Year, while South Carolina's Ieasia Walker is the Defensive Player of the Year. Sara Watkins of Arkansas and Morgan Eye of Missouri share 6th Woman of the Year honors and Auburn's Blanche Alverson is the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Clarke, Lister, Bowe and the Commodores open the 2013 SEC Women's Basketball Tournament against Missouri on Thursday, March 7. Tipoff at The Arena at Gwinnett Center is set for 5:00 p.m. CT and the game can be seen on SportSouth.

All-SEC First Team
Jasmine Hassell, Georgia
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky
DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M
Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

All-SEC Second Team
Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
Jennifer George, Florida
Jasmine James, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Adrienne Webb, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Bri Kulas, Missouri
Ashley Bruner, South Carolina
Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina
Adrienne Pratcher, Texas A&M
Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Jennifer George, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Samarie Walker, Kentucky
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Theresa Plaisance, LSU
Martha Alwal, Mississippi State
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Sydney Moss, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Danielle Ballard, LSU
Lianna Doty, Missouri
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M
Heather Bowe, Vanderbilt



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics