Foggie added to Wade Watch List

Christina Foggie is averaging 18.8 points per game.

Feb. 10, 2014

ATLANTA - Vanderbilt senior Christina Foggie was one of 10 players added to the "Wade Watch" list on Monday by the Wade Trophy Committee.

The additions were announced by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, on Monday.

Foggie is averaging 18.8 points and 3.9 rebounds per game for the Commodores, who face Tennessee tonight in Knoxville.

Joining the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch hopefuls are Tiffany Bias of Oklahoma State, Hallie Christofferson of Iowa State, Foggie, Markeisha Gatling of N.C. State, Dearica Hamby of Wake Forest, Natasha Howard of Florida State, Alexis Jones of Duke, Tricia Liston of Duke, Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, and Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina.

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

The Wade Trophy Coalition presents The Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player each year - one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. The Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce The Wade Trophy winner at the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, which is part of the 2014 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in Nashville.

Here is the complete 2014 State Farm Wade Watch list:

Name Institution Position Year Natalie Achonwa Notre Dame Forward Senior

Rachel Banham Minnesota Guard Junior

Tiffany Bias Oklahoma State Guard Senior

Brittany Boyd California Guard Junior

Gennifer Brandon California Forward Senior

Hallie Christofferson Iowa State Forward Senior

Jerica Coley FIU Guard Senior

Stefanie Dolson Connecticut Center Senior

Aaryn Ellenberg Oklahoma Guard Senior

Christina Foggie Vanderbilt Guard Senior

Markeisha Gatling NC State Center Senior

Bashaara Graves Tennessee Forward Soph.

Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Senior

Dearica Hamby Wake Forest Forward Junior

Bria Hartley Connecticut Guard Senior

Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Senior

Natasha Howard Florida State Forward Senior

Alexis Jones Duke Guard Soph.

Tricia Liston Duke Guard Senior

Jewell Loyd Notre Dame Guard Soph.

Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Senior

Tyaunna Marshall Georgia Tech Guard Senior

Kayla McBride Notre Dame Guard Senior

Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina Guard Soph.

Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis Connecticut Forward Junior

Chiney Oqwumike Stanford Forward Senior

Theresa Plaisance LSU Forward Senior

Ebony Rowe Middle Tennessee Forward Senior

Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Senior

Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Senior

Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Senior

DeNesha Stallworth Kentucky Forward Senior

Breanna Stewart Connecticut Forward Soph.

Alyssa Thomas Maryland Forward Senior

Elizabeth Williams Duke Center/Forward Junior



The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), now known as the Society of Health and Physical Educators, doing business as SHAPE America. For the past 11 years the two have worked together to present The Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.
Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics