Vanderbilt falls one shot short of match play

May 28, 2018

Final Stroke Play Results

STILLWATER, Okla. – The Commodores fell one shot short of the eight-team match play cut on Monday after the final round of stroke-play at the NCAA Championship at Karsten Creek Golf Course, ending the four-round tournament with a total of 18-over par, 1,170 (287-292-287-304).  Vanderbilt finished one stroke back of eighth-place Texas A&M.

Sophomore John Augenstein led Vanderbilt for the tournament with a two-under par, 286 (70-69-73-74), which placed him ninth among all individuals.

The Commodores counted Augenstein’s 74 on Monday, a 75 from senior Theo Humphrey, a 77 from redshirt sophomore Mason Greenberg, and a 78 from junior Patrick Martin on a tough day at Karsten Creek.

“This was a tough day for our guys and certainly not the way we wanted this season to end,” said Vanderbilt head coach Scott Limbaugh.  “I am so proud of how the guys fought until the very end, but unfortunately, today it wasn’t quite enough for our season to continue.  We didn’t play to the standard we needed to play to today and that’s not really any one person’s fault.  But we have to own it.  I know our boys are hurting right now and so am I.  I love this team and I wanted them to be able to play more golf because I truly believe they are special.  Theo gave his heart and soul to this program for four years and he made me a better coach and a better man.  I cannot say enough to all our fans and supporters that continue to help us and support us.  Vanderbilt Golf has a heart and soul and right now it is hurting, but we will find a way to move forward and continue to get better.”      

Karsten Creek played exceptionally tough on Monday, with no team finishing under par on the day.  Vanderbilt entered the last day of play fourth in birdies, but the Commodores could only muster a combined three birdies to go along with three eagles in their fourth round. 

Oklahoma State won the stroke-play portion of the event with an even-par, 1,152 (287-285-285-295) to earn the number one seed for match play, which begins Tuesday morning. The Cowboys will be joined by Duke, Texas Tech, Oklahoma, Auburn, Alabama, Texas, and Texas A&M.

Broc Everett of Augusta edged out Auburn’s Brandon Mancheno in a playoff to win the NCAA individual title.

9. Vanderbilt - 287-292-287-304=1170
T9. John Augenstein - 70-69-73-74=286
T21. Theo Humphrey - 70-75-70-75=290
T50. Will Gordon - 74-73-72-79=298
T61. Patrick Martin - 76-75-72-78=301
T69. Mason Greenberg - 73-77-77-77=304



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics