Webb headed to East-West Shrine Game

Dec. 11, 2017

Ralph Webb has accepted an invitation to play in the 93rd edition of the East-West Shrine Game.

Webb wrapped up his Vanderbilt career with 11 school records, including the school's all-time leading rusher with 4,173 yards and the school's all-time record with 35 total touchdowns. The Gainesville, Fla. native is one of just nine players in Southeastern Conference history to reach the 4,000-yard mark, finishing his career sixth on the league's all-time rushing list. He earned 49 consecutive starts for the Dores, starting every game of his four-year career

As a senior, Webb led Vanderbilt in rushing for the fourth straight year gaining 831 yards and scoring 10 touchdowns on the ground while adding a 73-yard score through the air. He capped his legendary career with his school-best 16th 100-yard game, running for 163 yards in the Dores' 42-24 win at Tennessee.

Webb becomes the first Commodore since Andrew Williamson and Steven Scheu in 2016 to accept an invitation to play in the East-West Shrine Game. Webb will be the 23rd Commodore to suit up in the postseason game that is set for January 20 at 2 p.m. CT on NFL Network.

The list of previous Commodore participants in the East-Game Shrine Game follows:
2016 Steven Scheu (TE), Andrew Williamson (S)
2014 Andre Hal (DB)
2008 Curtis Gatewood (LB), Jonathan Goff (LB)
2005 Justin Geisinger (OL)
2000 Matt Stewart (LB)
1997 Antony Jordan (LB)
1991 Kevin Brothen (C)
1984 Ricky Anderson (P/K), Kurt Page (QB)
1982 Allama Matthews (TE)
1981 Ken Hammond (QB)
1979 Frank Mordica (RB)
1977 Martin Cox (WR)
1975 Barry Burton (TE)
1972 Ken Stone (DB)
1970 Karl Weiss (TE)
1968 Chip Healy (LB)
1967 Gary Davis (QB)
1951 Bucky Curtis (WR)
1925 Gil Reese (RB)



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics