Corey Chavous: Vanderbilt's 2010 SEC Legend

Dec. 3, 2010

Corey Chavous, regarded as one of the top defensive backs in Vanderbilt history, will be honored this week as part of Southeastern Conference Championship festivities in Atlanta.

Chavous, a native of Aiken, S.C., who enjoyed a stellar 10-year career in the National Football League, will represent Vanderbilt as one of 12 conference legends during a weekend of festivities that starts Friday evening with the SEC Legends Dinner in downtown Atlanta.

Chavous will also be recognized in the Georgia Dome before kickoff of the SEC Championship Game between Auburn and South Carolina. Among the other former SEC greats participating are quarterback Tim Couch of Kentucky, defensive lineman Kevin Carter of Florida, linebacker Al Wilson of Tennessee and receiver Eric Moulds of Mississippi State.

Chavous, a product of Silver Bluff (S.C.) High School, became a four-year starting cornerback at Vanderbilt. Best known for his remarkable man-to-man coverage skills, Chavous finished his career with 12 interceptions and 199 total tackles.

"Corey was incredibly physical in coverage. Anybody that played against him during those years will tell you that," former Florida record-breaking receiver and current television analyst Chris Doering recently said. "He was unbelievably physical."

A consensus first team All-SEC selection as a senior, Chavous was a key ingredient in Vanderbilt's 1996 defense that ranked as the SEC's No. 1 unit. One of Chavous` closest friends and a teammate from that squad, linebacker Jamie Duncan, represented Vanderbilt as an SEC

Today, Chavous is recognized as one of the leading NFL Draft experts, and works with the NFL Network as a featured analyst on its draft day coverage. He is also the founder of an innovative draft-oriented website,

The complete list of former Commodore greats recognized as SEC legend since the conference initiated the program in 1994 follows:
1994: Bill Wade, quarterback
1995: Bob Asher, lineman
1996: John Hall, lineman
1997: Bucky Curtis, receiver
1998: Charley Horton, back
1999: Bob Werckle, lineman
2000: Herb Rich, back
2001: Will Wolford, lineman
2002: Jim Arnold, punter
2003: Whit Taylor, quarterback
2004: Boo Mitchell, receiver
2005: Chris Gaines, linebacker
2006: Eric Jones, quarterback
2007: Chuck Scott, receiver/tight end
2008: Shelton Quarles, linebacker
2009: Jamie Duncan, linebacker



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics