Football
Statement from SEC Coordinator of Officials

Nov. 19, 2011

Game Recap

Statement from Steve Shaw, SEC Coordinator of Officials concerning final play of Vanderbilt-Tennessee game

"On the last play of the Vanderbilt-Tennessee game, in overtime, the Tennessee defender intercepted the pass, his knee did not touch the ground and he returned the interception for a touchdown. During the play, the head linesman incorrectly ruled that the Tennessee player's knee was down when he intercepted the pass by blowing his whistle and giving the dead ball signal. The play was reviewed as if there was no whistle on the field and as a result, overturned the incorrect ruling. By rule, if there was a whistle blown, the play is not reviewable."


 

 

    Online Store

    Vanderbilt Commodores
    Official Online Store

      Advertisement