Lealao, Auwae-McMoore named to Polynesian Player of Year watch list

Aug. 10, 2017

Nashville, Tenn. – Senior Nifae Lealao and redshirt freshman Sean Auwae-McMoore have been named to the watch list for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award heading into the 2017 season.

Lealao enters his senior season at Vanderbilt having played in 34 games and making 47 tackles. He started 11 of the Commodores’ 13 games a year ago recording career marks in nearly every statistical category, including tackles and sacks. The Sacramento, Calif. native is the elder statesman of the Dores’ six players of Polynesian decent.

Auwae-McMoore is one of just two freshmen on the 48-man list. The first-ever Vanderbilt football player from Hawaii, Auwae-McMoore is competing for a spot on the Dores’ offensive line after redshirting last season.

The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame will announce the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year Award on January 21, 2018 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The award is given annually to the most outstanding Polynesian college football player that epitomizes great ability and integrity. Candidates for the award are selected on past performance and future potential. Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota won the award in 2014.

Vanderbilt opens the season September 2 at Middle Tennessee before returning to Nashville for the home opener against Alabama A&M on September 9 to begin a three-game home stand at Vanderbilt Stadium.



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics