Burks, Webb earn preseason All-SEC

July 14, 2017

Ralph Webb and Oren Burks have been named preseason All-Southeastern Conference recipients by attendees at the SEC Media Days, which was held earlier this week.

Webb and Burks was voted to the media’s third team all-conference units: Webb as running back and Burks at linebacker.

Several other Commodore players received votes from the panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. Those included quarterback Kyle Shurmur, wide receiver Trent Sherfield, defensive lineman Nifae Lealao, cornerback Tre Herndon, safety Ryan White and placekicker Tommy Openshaw.

ANCHOR DOWN: Get your 2017 Vanderbilt football season tickets here

Webb, a senior from Gainesville, Fla., has stamped himself as the most productive running back in Vanderbilt history after three superb seasons. He is the Commodores’ all-time leading rusher with 3,342 yards. The total ranks No. 20 of the Southeastern Conference career charts.

Webb also established a new Vanderbilt single-season rushing record last year, finishing the season with 1,283 yards and 13 rushing touchdowns.

Webb, named last week as a preseason candidate for the Maxwell Award given annually to the nation’s top player, has eclipsed the team’s freshman, sophomore and junior records for rushing yards entering his final year on campus.

Burks, from Fairfax Station, Va., is one of the most versatile defenders in the SEC. In 2016, he played the team's hybrid Star position, as well as inside and outside linebacker. This fall, he is expected to concentrate on inside linebacker.

In 2016, Burks finished with 40 unassisted tackles, 59 total stops, 6.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 quarterback sacks and an interception. Burks' career statistics include 155 total tackles and four interceptions.

Webb, Burks and the Commodores will open the regular season at Middle Tennessee on Sept. 2. The team’s home opener is scheduled Sept. 9 against Alabama A&M.

Vanderbilt will play seven games on campus. Besides Alabama A&M, the Commodores host Kansas State on Sept. 16, Alabama on Sept. 23, Georgia on Oct. 7, Western Kentucky on Nov. 4, Kentucky on Nov. 11 and Missouri on Nov. 18.


Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics