Lassing named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Hampshire Society recipient Fitz Lassing

April 30, 2014

Vanderbilt senior fullback Fitz Lassing is among 10 players from the Southeastern Conference named to the 2014 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society.

Lassing, a Nashville native who graduated last December from the College of Arts & Science, is the only Commodore named to the Hampshire Society.

The honor recognizes college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

Lassing was a multi-year starter at fullback who played in 48 career games as a four-year letter winner. He contributed to a history-making run for the Commodore football program that included three consecutive postseason bowl appearances and back-to-back 9-win seasons in 2012-13.

Lassing earned significant academic honors during his Vanderbilt studies. He was a four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll after compiling a brilliant 3.901 G.P.A. while majoring in economics and minoring in managerial studies-corporate strategy.

A two-time recipient of the team award for highest grade point average, Lassing became one of seven SEC student-athletes nominated for the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete. This March, Lassing also received the 2013 Bickerstaff/Pace University Scholar-Athlete Award by the NFF Middle Tennessee chapter.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."

Other SEC student-athletes receiving Hampshire Society recognition were Cabe Foster of Alabama, Steven Clark of Auburn, Christopher Burnette and Aaron Murray of Georgia, Joe Mansour of Kentucky, Tyler Campbell, Chris Conley and Andrew Ritter of Ole Miss, and Daniel Hood of Tennessee.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:



• Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility;

• Achieving a 3.2 cumulative GPA throughout entire course of undergraduate study;

• And meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics