Start times and TV designations announced for Big 12/SEC Challenge

Aug 13, 2013

In May, the Southeastern Conference and Big 12 Conference announced the beginning of the Big 12/SEC Challenge in men's basketball.

On Tuesday, start times and television designations were announced for each game, including Vanderbilt's road meeting at Texas on December 2. Vanderbilt and Texas will meet in Austin, Texas, at 8 p.m. CT in a game that will be televised on ESPN2.

Vanderbilt is 4-2 all-time against Texas, but the two have not met since January 21, 1989. The 2013 meeting will be the first between the two schools to take place in Austin.

The inter-conference event begins during the 2013-14 season with 10 members of the SEC and all 10 members of the Big 12 participating. Arkansas, Georgia, LSU and Tennessee will not participate in the first year.

All 10 games will be televised on either ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU. Below is a complete schedule for the inaugural Big 12/SEC Challenge.

2013 Big 12/SEC Challenge schedule

Thursday, November 14
Texas Tech at Alabama (ESPN2 - 8pm CT)

Monday, December 2
Auburn at Iowa State (ESPNU - 6pm CT)
Vanderbilt at Texas (ESPN2 - 8pm CT)

Thursday, December 5
West Virginia at Missouri (ESPN2 - 6pm CT)
TCU at Mississippi State (ESPNU - 6pm CT)
Ole Miss at Kansas State (ESPN2 - 8pm CT)

Friday, December 6
South Carolina at Oklahoma State (ESPNU - 8:30pm CT)
Kentucky vs. Baylor - Dallas (ESPN - 9pm CT)

Tuesday, December 10
Kansas at Florida (ESPN - 6pm CT)

Saturday, December 21
Oklahoma vs. Texas A&M - Houston (ESPNU - 7pm ET)



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics