Foster named Second-Team All-American

March 31, 2008

The accolades continue to accumulate for Vanderbilt senior Shan Foster after his stellar senior season in 2007-08, with the latest coming from the Associated Press in the form of a Second-Team All-America selection, the first Commodore since Billy McCaffrey in 1994 to be awarded with the honor.  Foster, the consensus SEC Player of the Year, finished his Vanderbilt career as the school's all-time leading scorer and the Commodores' all-time leader in three pointers made in a career and a season.

Foster was joined on the second team by Notre Dame sophomore center Luke Harangody, seniors D.J. White of Indiana and Roy Hibbert of Georgetown, and Davidson sophomore guard Stephen Curry, who led the Wildcats to the regional final by averaging 34.5 points in the NCAA tournament.

The first-team included no seniors for the first time in the history of the award.  North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, a junior, and Michael Beasley of Kansas State, a freshman, were unanimous selections to the Associated Press first team.  Freshman Kevin Love of UCLA, sophomore D.J. Augustin of Texas, and junior Chris Douglas-Roberts of Memphis joined Hansbrough and Beasley on the first team.

The third team was comprised of senior Chris Lofton of Tennessee, junior Darren Collison of UCLA, sophomore Brook Lopez of Stanford and freshmen Derrick Rose of Memphis and Eric Gordon of Indiana.

Earlier this season, Foster was named as a first-team All-American by and, and was awarded a second-team selection by, the Sporting News, and the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.  He was also named as a first team All-Region selection by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

Also on Monday, the 6'6 senior from Kenner, La., was named as one of five finalists for the Chip Hilton Player of the Year Award, which honors a senior Division I men's player for demonstrating outstanding character, leadership, and talent similar to the qualities evident in the 24-book Chip Hilton sports fiction series. The books authored by Clair Bee enjoyed their first popularity in the late 1940s through the mid-1960s and were updated and re-released to a new generation of readers in 1999.   The award, presented by Chip Hilton Sports and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, will be announced at the Final Four in San Antonio on April 7, 2008.

The selection committee for the Chip Hilton Award is a who's who of college basketball and is composed of: Dan Beebe, Jay Bilas, Dave Gavitt, Bob Hammel, Bob Knight, Pete Newell, Billy Packer, Dean Smith, and Dick Vitale.



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics