Foster wins Associated Press SEC Player of the Year Award

March 17, 2008

Foster Website with Videos, Quotes, Stats and More
Foster Highlight reel from 2007 and 2008 seasons
VUcommodores YouTube: Foster's 42 w/ Fisher's Radio Calls

NASHVILLE - Senior wing Shan Foster was named as the Associated Press Player of the Year for the Southeastern Conference in 2007-08, an award Foster also won from the league's coaches last week. Foster joins former Commodore great Dan Langhi as the only Vanderbilt player to win the award from both the media and the coaches.

Foster, along with Langhi, are the only two Vanderbilt players to win Player of the Year honors from the SEC media.

Foster leads the SEC in scoring, three-point field goals made, and three-point field goal percentage, and was recently named as a U.S. Basketball Writers Association Second Team All-American. He was named to the Sporting News Second Team last week, and was honored on the First Team before the SEC Tournament.

The Associated Press Player of the Year award caps off a remarkable season by the 6'6 senior from Kenner, La. Earlier this year, he became Vanderbilt's all-time leading scorer, surpassing former Commodore great Matt Freije, and became the school's leader in three-point field goals made and attempted. Foster also set the single-season Vanderbilt record for threes in route to Vanderbilt's best start in school history at 16-0 and a tie with the 1992-93 team for the highest regular season win total (25) since Vanderbilt began playing basketball in 1900-01. He is also two points shy of becoming only the 22nd player to reach the 2,000-point barrier in Southeastern Conference history.

Foster, who has been named the SEC Player of the Week a record four times in 2007-08, posted the most 20-point games in the league in the regular season (17) and has the highest single-game output in the SEC season after pouring in 42 points in a win over Mississippi State on March 5.

Foster, along with Mississippi State's Jamont Gordon, were the only two players named as unanimous selections to the AP First Team. Richard Hendrix of Alabama, Devan Downey of South Carolina, and Chris Lofton and Tyler Smith of Tennessee join Foster and Gordon on the first team.

Vanderbilt's freshman center A.J. Ogilvy, who leads all SEC freshmen in scoring at 17.0 points per game, was named as an honorable mention selection.

SEC Postseason Awards

u-Shan Foster, Vanderbilt, F, 6-6, Sr.
u-Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State, G-F, 6-4, Jr.
Richard Hendrix, Alabama, F, 6-8, Jr.
Chris Lofton, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Sr.
Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F, 6-7, So.
Devan Downey, South Carolina, G, 5-9, So.

Charles Rhodes, Mississippi State, F, 6-8, Sr.
Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, F, 6-9, Fr.
Ramel Bradley, Kentucky, G, 6-2, Sr.
Marcus Thornton, LSU, G, 6-4, Jr.
Nick Calathes, Florida, G-F, 6-6, Fr.
Sonny Weems, Arkansas, F, 6-6, Sr.
Dwayne Curtis, Mississippi, C, 6-8, Sr.

Joe Crawford, Kentucky, G, 6-5, Sr.
Sundiata Gaines, Georgia, G, 6-1, Sr.
A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C, 6-10, Fr.
Anthony Randolph, LSU, F, 6-10, Fr.
JaJuan Smith, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Sr.
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, C, 6-9, So.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Shan Foster, Vanderbilt
COACH OF THE YEAR - Bruce Pearl, Tennessee
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Nick Calathes, Florida



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics