Price Named ABCA Player of Year

June 18, 2007

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- The American Baseball Coaches Association named Vanderbilt's David Price as the 2007 ABCA/Rawlings Division I Player of the Year as the organization released its All-American teams.

Price (11-1, 2.63 ERA, 194 K, 133.1 IP) was joined on the organization's first-team All-American squad by junior outfielder Dominic de la Osa (.378, 20 HR, 62 RBI, 94 H, 65 R, 23 2B, 2 3B, 20 SB) and senior reliever Casey Weathers (12-2, 7 saves, 2.37 ERA, 75 K, 49.1 IP).

Sophomore third baseman Pedro Alvarez (.386, 18 HR, 68 RBI, 105 H, 76 R, 21 2B, 3 3B, 6 SB) and sophomore shortstop Ryan Flaherty (.381, 4 HR, 57 RBI, 104 H, 59 R, 23 2B, 3 3B, 12 SB) earned second-team plaudits.

In selecting the Player of the Year, the ABCA considers both performance on the field and value to the team. A junior from Murfreesboro, Tenn., for head coach Tim Corbin's Commodores, the consensus All-American left-hander led the SEC in five different pitching categories and was dominant in almost every start for his '07 squad. He led Vanderbilt to a school-record-season victories' total at 54-13 overall.

Price was chosen as the first player in the 2007 Major League Baseball Draft by the Tampa Bay Devil Rays (VU's first-ever initial draft selection) and ended the year at 11-1 overall with 194 strikeouts in 133.1 innings pitched (13.1 strikeouts every nine frames). He did not lose a decision in his 17 starts and struck out 10 or more batters in 12 of those first 17 appearances. Price also had a career-high 17 strikeouts in the opening round of the NCAA Nashville Regional in nine innings against Austin Peay.

The 2007 SEC Pitcher of the Year finished with a 2.63 earned run average and 95 hits (a norm of 6.4 hits every nine innings). He also broke the school's career strikeout record with 441 in just three seasons and 313 innings of work. Price's 194 strikeouts also were second in SEC season history to LSU's Ben McDonald (1989), and he helped Vanderbilt rise to a No. 1 ranking nationally for nine-consecutive weeks - a school record. The junior helped the Commodores take their first-ever regular-season SEC crown in '07 and was a standout on the 2006 VU postseason entry.

The ABCA All-America Teams are collegiate baseball's oldest selections, dating to 1949. All Division I coaches have the opportunity to nominate and vote on these selections, which are initially compiled into eight All-Region teams. These teams are then finalized as the first, second and third All-America teams by the ABCA's NCAA Division I All-America and Coach of the Year Committee, chaired by Pat McMahon. This year, the committee selected 59 players as 2007 ABCA All-Americans.

The ABCA National Coach of the Year is the coach of the national championship team, and will be recognized at the ABCA National Convention in Philadelphia, Pa., over Jan. 3-6, 2008.

Stay updated on all the latest Vanderbilt news by signing up for free Commodore Nation Insider email alerts. Click to Register



Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics