Vanderbilt Athletics

VU to be well represented at TSHOF

May 3, 2013

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Vanderbilt will have a large contingent of honorees at Saturday's Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Banquet. The banquet and dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. CT and will be held at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

At the event, former Vanderbilt basketball great John Ed Miller will be officially enshrined into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame as the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Also being recognized will be Vanderbilt Head Coach James Franklin and former Commodores David Price and Brandt Snedeker.

Born in Murray, Ky., and raised in Union City, Tenn., Miller attended Vanderbilt from 1963-65. As a guard for the Commodores, Miller earned All-SEC honors in 1964 and 1965. In 1965, Miller captained Vanderbilt to the school's first SEC Championship and eventually helped the team reach the Elite 8.

Franklin will be honored as the 2013 Tennessean of the Year, while former Vanderbilt All-Americans Price and Snedeker were named Professional Athletes of the Year.

The selection of Franklin, 41, as the Tennessean of the Year Award recipient was announced during halftime of Vanderbilt's Black and Gold Spring Game on April 13. Franklin will become the first Vanderbilt head coach ever recognized for the prestigious award. The only other recipient with Vanderbilt ties is current U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander, the former Tennessee governor who ran track as a Commodore undergraduate.

In 2012, Price fell just shy of sweeping the American League Triple Crown for pitching. Price's performance, which included starting in the Major League Baseball All-Star Game, also earned him the AL Cy Young Award.

Snedeker captured the PGA Tour Fed Ex Cup by winning the season-ending Tour Championship in Atlanta. He also represented the United States for the first time in the prestigious Ryder Cup competition vs. a team of European players. He won twice during the year, and ended the season ranked among the Top Ten golfers in the world.

Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics