Athletics News
Hendrix, Lassing nominated for McWhorter Award

May 1, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Vanderbilt Athletics has selected football player Fitz Lassing and women' soccer standout Kendra Hendrix as its top candidates for the Southeastern Conference's prestigious H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the SEC since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes. The 2014 McWhorter Award recipients will be announced May 6 at the league's spring banquet in Destin, Fla.

Highlights of Vanderbilt's nominees include:

Fitz Lassing, Football

• Economics major who graduated in December 2013 Minors in Managerial Studies-Corporate Strategy
• Four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll · Compiled brilliant 3.903 grade point average
• One of 10 SEC recipients of Hampshire Honor Society (National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) and one of seven nominees from SEC for NFF's prestigious National Scholar-Athlete Award
• Two-time recipient of the National Scholar-Athlete team award for highest GPA
• Two-year member of squad's Leadership Council, which serves as a liaison between players and coaches resolving internal issues, gaining his position on the council by team vote
• Member of the coveted Dean's List each semester during his collegiate career
• Member of Omicron Delta Epsilon, a national economic honors society, Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honors society and was a National Merit finalist in 2010
• Named 2013 Bickerstaff/Pace University Scholar-Athlete Award by the Middle Tennessee chapter of NFF 
• Multi-year starter at fullback and a four-year letterwinner during a history-making run for the Commodore football program that included three consecutive postseason bowl appearances and back-to-back 9-win seasons
• Active member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes and has taken mission trips with his church to New Orleans, Wisconsin and eastern Kentucky to help impoverished neighborhoods

Kendra Hendrix, Women's Soccer

• Graduated in Spring 2014 in Public Policy, Community Sustainability
• Earned impressive 3.226 grade point average
• Began life in a lower-income, urban neighborhood and developed into one of school's finest examples of the student-athlete best combining athletic, academics and service achievement
• Robert Harvey Scholarship recipient and studied abroad in Denmark in the summer of 2013
• Named to SEC Academic Honor Roll, three-year letter winner, named team's Most Improved Player and nominated as the school's outstanding student-athlete by the Black Student Alliance
• Active in community service, volunteering time and talents to a wide array of organizations and projects
• Member of the Alpha Phi Omega Community Service fraternity, offering assistance to organizations that confront homelessness and the impoverished
• Twice was member and site leader of Alternative Winter Break, a student-run service organization promoting community involvement, social action and critical thinking
• Summer intern with Audubon Arkansas, researching, designing and maintaining an Arkansas native plant and rain garden while leading summer camps for underprivileged youth about the importance of nature
• Has been involved with Eco-Dores and Eco-Suds, student groups who act as peer educators to other students to live in an environmentally sustainable way
• Other service activities include MOSAIC Multicultural Weekend, Dance Marathon (a student fund-raiser), Student Athlete Advisory Council, Bowling with Cerebral Palsy, Asian New Year Festival and Rites of Spring Recycling.

Each year, the SEC, in conjunction with AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship.

Each of the SEC's 14 teams nominated a male and female candidate for the McWhorter Award scholarship. All nominees will also receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are honored at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla., in late May.

    Online Store

    Vanderbilt Commodores
    Official Online Store