Vanderbilt Athletics

Golden Dores Banquet winners

April 16, 2018

Several Vanderbilt student-athletes were honored for their competitive, academic and community achievements Monday night at the Golden Dores Banquet.

The night was capped by tennis All-American Astra Sharma being named Miss Commodore and men's cross country runner Sam DeFabrizio being named Mr. Commodore. All Vanderbilt student-athletes voted on the award, which goes to seniors who best represent their sport, all student-athletes and the campus community. Both Sharma and DeFabrizio are four-year letterwinners in their respective sports.

Sharma, from Perth, Australia, is one of the most accomplished women's tennis players in Commodore history. She was a cornerstone of the 2015 squad that followed a Southeastern Conference crown with the team's first NCAA national championship where she earned tournament Most Valuable Player honors. The reigning SEC Player of the Year and a two-time All-American, Sharma is a four-time SEC Academic Honor Roll recipient. She is majoring in medicine, health and society.

DeFabrizio, from Glen Gardner, N.J., ran among the Commodore top five in cross country throughout his career, but made an even greater impact as a leader within the student-athlete population. He showcased his dedication to fellow athletes and the athletic department by serving as president of Vanderbilt Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). As president, DeFabrizio was instrumental in the development and implementation of SAAC's highly-regarded "I Am More" campaign which highlighted student-athletes and their passions outside of athletics. He is majoring in economics and political science.

The banquet began with a special recognition and standing ovation from fellow student-athletes for the Commodore women's bowling team that captured the NCAA national championship last weekend in St. Louis. 

The full list of Golden Dores award winners follows:

Newcomer of the Year
Female - Myra Konte (Soccer)
Konte started 21 of 22 games this past fall as a Commodore freshman defender. The first-year player from Woodbridge, Va. helped Vanderbilt reach the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2006 and win the Commodores' first NCAA Tournament match since 1998. The quick defender with strong technical skills will be an important member of the Commodore back line for the next four years.

Male - John Augenstein (Men's Golf)
Augenstein won the program's first SEC Freshman of the Year honor in 2017 while also being named as a Freshman All-American by the Golf Coaches Association of America. Augenstein also helped the Commodores clinch their first SEC title with two match-clinching victories in the semifinals and finals of the SEC Championship in Sea Island. John also took home the individual title at the Mason Rudolph Championships this weekend, helping Vanderbilt claim the tournament team crown.

Player of the Year
Female - Fernanda Contreras (Women's Tennis)
The first player in Vanderbilt history to win a Riviera All-American national title, Contreras has been in the ITA top-five rankings since November, earning a career-high ranking of No. 3 in the nation. Contreras has been sensational in Southeastern Conference play, winning all but four matches throughout her career. This season, she has been a key player as the Commodores repeated as SEC regular season champions. Contreras plans to represent Mexico in the Fed Cup this summer.

Male - Ralph Webb (Football)
Webb capped the finest career ever by a Commodore running back with another outstanding senior campaign when he produced 10 rushing touchdowns and 831 yards. For his career, Webb established a bundle of new rushing marks, including 4,173 yards, 32 rushing touchdowns, 931 rush attempts and 16 games of at least 100 rushing yards. Webb's career rushing total ranks among the all-time Southeastern Conference leaders. 

Play of the Year
John Augenstein (Men's Golf)
Only a freshman, Augenstein drained a 10-foot putt on the two extra playoff hole to clinch a critical 1-Up win over Florida's Andy Zhang in the semifinals of the 2017 Southeastern Conference Golf Championship. Augenstein's important victory helped the Commodores advance to match-play finals where they went on to capture their first-ever SEC title.

Comeback of the Year
Female - Summer Dvorak (Women's Tennis)
Dvorak joined the lineup this season after nursing an injury the past two seasons. She boasts a 9-3 dual record and has suffered just five losses throughout the entire season, boasting a 9-3 dual record. The junior has helped contribute in the No. 5 and No. 6 singles positions for the black and gold, helping the team reach the No. 2 ranking in the country. She also clinched the regular season SEC championship this weekend.

Male - Cameron Klinger (Men's Tennis)
Klinger tore the anterior cruciate ligament in his knee in March 2017 but was back at full strength by December. Now ranked top-50 in the country, Klinger has started at positions 1 & 2 in the singles' lineup and is a valuable doubles contributor.

James A. Robins Award
Khari Blasinghame (Football)
Aside from being a Team Captain and on the Leadership Council of the Football team, Blasingame has spent considerable time on campus and in the community in a service capacity throughout his years at Vanderbilt. He has served as a mentor for Project I Am, a mentoring organization on campus for first-year Minority Students, He is currently serving as Vice President of the Kappa Theta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha. Blasingame has been accepted to graduate school at Vanderbilt, so he will be with us for another year as a leader on and off the field.

Community Service Award
Danielle Snajder (Soccer)
A senior from Monroe, Conn., Snajder is a member of Vanderbilt Students Volunteer for Science (VSVS), traveling and teaching science lessons to sixth graders in the Nashville community. She was named to the SEC Community Service Team for her involvement with VSVS, while also working at multiple campus blood drives, sorting foods at Second Harvest Food Bank, tutoring second graders with Pencil Projects, assisting the YWCA at consignment stores and volunteering with the American Red Cross Club.

Dr. Jerry Reves Award - Highest GPA
Marley Sternberg (Lacrosse)
With a 3.905 GPA, Marley is a three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, consistently representing Vanderbilt Lacrosse in the highest fashion both in the classroom and on the field. She was selected as a D1 Academic All-American in 2017, and will serve as a 2018 Vanderbilt Commencement Marshal this May, when she receives her undergraduate degree in Cognitive Studies.

Godfrey Dillard Award
Turner Cockrell (Football)
A redshirt freshman expected to contribute at tight end for the Commodores, Cockrell missed the entire 2017 season due to serious illness.

Shining Star Award
The Shining Star Award is voted on by each team, and given to a team member who is an unsung hero and who embodies the spirit of Vanderbilt Athletics.
  Baseball - Tyler Brown
  Men's Basketball - Saben Lee 
  Women's Basketball - Chelsie Hall
  Bowling - Adel Wahner 

  Men's Cross Country - Jason Vincze 
  Women's Cross Country - Caroline Pietrzyk 

  Football - Trey Ellis 
  Men's Golf - Mason Greenberg
  Women's Golf - Abbey Carlson 
  Lacrosse - Marley Sternberg 
  Soccer - Gabrielle Rademaker
  Swimming - Breanna Sapienza
  Women's Tennis - Emily Smith
  Men's Tennis - Adam Sraberg
  Track & Field - Sophia Falco 

Miss Commodore
Astra Sharma (Women's Tennis)

Mr. Commodore
Sam DeFabrizio (Men's Cross Country)

Proud Sponsors of Commodore Athletics